Strausberg, BB

Berlin Wall in Strausberg

Location: Von-Hardenberg Barracks

3 segments

In autumn 1990, the command of the demolition of the inner-German border fortifications changed from the National People’s Army to the Bundeswehr. As a result, Wall memorials were erected at numerous military bases in Germany. So in Strausberg, east of Berlin, in the Von-Hardenberg Barracks.

From 1945 to 1954, these barracks were quarters to the Soviet Army. Afterwards it were used by the command of the Kasernierte Volkspolizei (KVP), which was part of the Ministry of the Interior of the German Democratic Republic. In 1956, the Ministry of National Defense emerged from the KVP. Strausberg obtained capital functions.

On October 3rd, 1990 the Bundeswehr took over the barracks. In 2012, the Army Command moved in. Formerly known as Struzberg and Liegenschaft Strausberg-Nord, the barracks were renamed as Von-Hardenberg-Kaserne in 2014. (Source: Garnisonsstadt Strausberg)

Click to enlarge:

Photo above and background:
© Bundeswehr/Dorow

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Strausberg, BB

Berliner Mauer in Strausberg

Standort: Von-Hardenberg-Kaserne

3 Segmente

 

Im Herbst 1990 ging das Kommando zum Abriss der innerdeutschen Grenzanlagen von der Nationalen Volksarmee auf die Bundeswehr über. In der Folge wurde an zahlreichen Bundeswehrstandorten ein Mauermahnmal errichtet. So auch in Strausberg, östlich von Berlin, in der Von-Hardenberg-Kaserne.

Von 1945 bis 1954 waren hier Verbände der Sowjetarmee stationiert. Anschließend zog der Berliner Hauptstab der Kasernierten Volkspolizei (KVP) ein, damals Teil des Innenministeriums der Deutschen Demokratischen Republik (DDR). 1956 ging daraus das Ministerium für Nationale Verteidigung (MfNV) hervor. Strausberg erhielt hauptstädtische Funktion.

Am 3. Oktober 1990 übernahm die Bundeswehr die Liegenschaft. Seit 2012 ist hier u.a. das Kommando Heer untergebracht. 2014 wurde die ursprünglich als Struzberg später als Liegenschaft Strausberg-Nord bekannte Kaserne in Von-Hardenberg-Kaserne umbenannt. (Quelle: Garnisonsstadt Strausberg)

Zum Vergrößern aufs Bild klicken:

Foto oben und Hintergrund:
© Bundeswehr/Dorow

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.