Schengen, L

Berlin Wall in Schengen, Luxemburg

Location: European Information Center

1 segment

 

Schengen has become a synonym for the border-free travel in Europe. The cancellation of inter-state borders and passport controls was initially agreed upon by five European countries on a Mosel ship near Schengen in June 1985.

As a symbol of the opening and the removal of borders in Europe a Wall segment is facing the European Information Centre since 2010. The segment is a gift from the Berlin Senat and was previously at the Sony Centre in Berlin.

The original graffito Can I stay? by Wee Flowers covers three segments. The other parts are now in Verdun, France and Kiev, Ukraine.

In 2015, another segment was added – with portrait and signature of the former Soviet leader Mikhail Gorbachev.
This segment is a donation of dietary supplement manufacturer PM-International, which residents in Schengen. It was acquired at a charity auction of the Cinema for Peace Foundation.
The latter held a joint symposium about the new challenges in the East-West dialogue with Michael Gorbachev and his New Policy Forum, on the occasion of the 25th anniversary of the fall of the Wall in Berlin.
The Cinema for Peace Foundation supports filmmakers, who work on humanitarian and human rights issues, as well as Gorbachev’s New Policy Forum, one of the most modern think tanks in Russia. PM-International is one of the supporters of the Cinema for Peace Foundation.
The auctioned segment was set up next to the existing segment in Schengen early 2015.

Click to enlarge:

Photo above and background:
© Maison Europe Direct

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Schengen, L

Berlin Wall in Schengen, Luxembourg

Standort: Europäisches Informationszentrum

1 Segment

 

Schengen ist zum Synonym geworden für den grenzfreien Verkehr in Europa. Der Wegfall der zwischenstaatlichen Grenz- und Passkontrollen wurde zunächst von fünf europäischen Staaten auf einem Moselschiff in der Nähe von Schengen im Juni 1985 vereinbart.

Als Symbol für die Öffnung und den Wegfall der Grenzen in Europa steht vor dem Europäischen Informationszentrum  seit 2010 ein Mauersegment. Das Segment ist eine Schenkung und stand zuvor im Sony-Zentrum in Berlin.

Das Original-Graffito Can I stay? von Wee Flowers erstreckt sich über drei Segmente. Die anderen Teile stehen jetzt in Kiew, Ukraine und Verdun, Frankreich.

2015 kam ein weiteres Segment hinzu, mit Portrait und Signatur des ehemaligen Sowjetischen Staats- und Regierungschefs Michail Gorbatschow.
Das Segment ist eine Spende des in Schengen ansässigen Nahrungsergänzungsmittelherstellers PM-International und stammt aus einer Wohltätigkeits-Versteigerung der Cinema for Peace Foundation.
Letztere veranstaltete in Berlin aus Anlass des 25. Jahrestages des Falls der Berliner Mauer ein gemeinsames Symposium mit Michael Gorbatschow und dem New Policy Forum zu den neuen Herausforderungen im Ost-West-Dialog.
Die Cinema for Peace Foundation unterstützt Filmschaffende, die sich humanitärer und menschenrechtlicher Themen annehmen, ebenso wie Russlands wichtigsten Think Tank, das New Policy Forum. PM-International zählt zu den Unterstützern der Cinema for Peace Foundation.
Das versteigerte und gestiftete Mauersegment wurde im Frühjahr 2015 in Schengen neben dem bereits vorhandenen Segment aufgestellt.

Zum Vergrößern aufs Bild klicken:

Foto oben und Hintergrund:
© Maison Europe Direct

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.