Colombes, F – Institution Jeanne d’Arc Colombes

Berlin Wall in Colombes

Location: Institution Jeanne d’Arc Colombes

2 segments

 

Peace, international understanding and remembering is the message of the Wall segments, which were set up in May 2015 in the catholic School Centre Institution Jeanne d’Arc Colombes in a suburb northeast of Paris. The inauguration took place in the presence of i.a. representatives of the German and Polish embassies in Paris and Nicole Fontaine, former President of the European Parliament.

The memorial was initiated by Phillipe Belleuvre, a teacher at the Institution Jeanne d’Arc, and his Association Monphi. But above all, it was enabled by an unparalleled commitment of the pupils of the 11th grade: For several weeks and months, they collected the necessary funds by numerous actions and initiatives. A Polish forwarding company took over the transport of the segments from a storage bin near Berlin to Paris.

Finally, the artist Victor Landeta was invited, whose work on the Berlin Wall also can be seen in Schermbeck and Schengen. His on site realized artwork represents inner peace, which we all need in order to find common peace. The other side of the Wall segments was partly designed in cooperation with pupils and is inspired by local conditions.

Click to enlarge:

 

Photo above and background:
© Victor Landeta

 

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Colombes, F – Institution Jeanne d’Arc Colombes

Berliner Mauer in Colombes

Standort: Institution Jeanne d’Arc Colombes

2 Segmente

Frieden, Völkerverständigung und Erinnernung ist die Botschaft der im Mai 2015 aufgestellten Mauersegmente im katholisch geprägten Schulzentrum Institution Jeanne d’Arc Colombes in einem Vorort nordöstlich von Paris. Die Einweihung fand im Beisein u.a. von Vertretern der deutschen und polnischen Botschaften in Paris sowie von Nicole Fontaine, der ehemaligen Präsidentin des Europäischen Parlamentes, statt.

Vorausgegangen war eine Initiative von Phillipe Belleuvre, einem Lehrer an der Institution Jeanne d’Arc, und seiner Association Monphi, vor allem aber ein beispielloses Engagement der Schülerinnen und Schüler der 11. Klasse: Über Wochen und Monate sammelten diese mit zahlreichen Aktionen und Initiativen die notwendigen finanziellen Mittel ein. Den Transport der Segmente von einem Lagerplatz bei Berlin nach Paris übernahm eine polnische Spedition.

Zuletzt wurde schließlich der Künstler Victor Landeta eingeladen, dessen Arbeiten auf der Berliner Mauer auch in Schermbeck und Schengen zu sehen sind. Seine vor Ort entstandene Arbeit auf einer Seite der Segmente soll den individuellen inneren Frieden zum Ausdruck bringen, als Voraussetzung für kollektiven Frieden. Die andere Seite wurde zum Teil gemeinsam mit Schülerinnen und Schülern konzipiert und ist von örtlichen Gegebenheiten inspiriert.

Zum Vergrößern aufs Bild klicken:

Foto oben und Hintergrund:
© Victor Landeta

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.