Riga, LV

Berlin Wall in Riga

Location: Park Kronvalda, in front of Parliament’s building

1 segment

 

 

The Singing Revolution from 1987 to 1991 was a nationale independence movement of the Baltic Republics. In 1990, the Museum Haus am Checkpoint Charlie from Berlin and its exhibition History of the Cold War was invited to Riga by some members of the parliament. The segment of the Berlin Wall wich was brought along remained as present.

Early 1991 bloody confrontations happened between the independence movement and Soviet troops: As more and more citizens demonstrated for their freedom, Moscow sent special forces to dam up the resistance. Not only in Riga fierce fighting inflamed, but freedom was the winner in the end.

After independence was declared in the Park Kronvalda in 1991, a monument was erected to remind of the armed hostilities in front of the most hotly contested Parliament building. In 1992, the monument was completed with the Berlin Wall segment. Originally, this segment beared the letters LIN. Its corresponding segment with BER is in Moscow.

Click to enlarge:

 

Photo above and background:
© by Arjan Tupan. Licensed under CC BY-NC 2.0

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Riga, LV

Berliner Mauer in Riga

Standort: Park Kronvalda, vor dem Parlamentsgebäude

1 Segment

 

Die Singende Revolution von 1987 bis 1991 war eine nationale Bewegung in den baltischen Republiken und galt der Unabhängigkeit von Moskau. 1990 luden Mitglieder der lettischen Regierung das Berliner Museum Haus am Checkpoint Charlie und deren Ausstellung zur Geschichte des Kalten Krieges nach Riga ein. Das mitgebrachte Mauersegment blieb als Gastgeschenk in der lettischen Hauptstadt.

Anfang 1991 kam es zu blutigen Auseinandersetzungen zwischen Unabhängigkeitsbefürwortern und sowjetischen Einheiten: Nachdem immer mehr Bürger für ihre Freiheit auf die Straße gingen, schickte Moskau Spezialeinheiten, um den Widerstand einzudämmen. Nicht nur im lettischen Riga waren heftige Kämpfe die Folge, aus denen am Ende die Freiheit als Sieger hervorging.

Vor dem am heftigsten umkämpften Parlamentsgebäude wurde nach der in 1991 erklärten Unabhängigkeit im Park Kronvalda ein Denkmal zur Erinnerung an die Auseinandersetzungen errichtet. 1992 wurde das Denkmal mit dem Mauersegment ergänzt. Ursprünglich waren auf diesem Segment noch die Buchstaben LIN zu erkennen, deren Anschlussstück BER in Moskau steht.

Zum Vergrößern aufs Bild klicken:

 

Foto oben und Hintergrund:
© by Arjan Tupan. Licensed under CC BY-NC 2.0

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.