Zuasti, E

Berlin Wall in Zuasti

Location: service area Zuasti at the A15 close to Pamplona

1 segment

 

An unusual marketing activity and a sign of piece can be found close to the border to the Basque country: Since May 1991 the most unusual and the most eye-catching Wall monument is standing at a service area in the autonomous region Navarra.

The idea for this monument goes back to the anthropologist José Antonio Jáuregui Oroquieta. The monument was created by the architect Fernando Redón Huici. The procurement of the segment was on Manuel Romero’s responsibility.

The monument is enhanced with a quote from the Spanish diplomat, writer, historian and pacifist Salvador de Madariaga from the year 1967: “On the way to peace in Europe the Berlin Wall has to be overcome first.”

Navarre is beside Catalonia, Galicia and the Basque region a historical nation of Spain and has been an autonomous region since 1980/1981. This fact adds another dimension to the memorial. See also Berlin Wall site in Redondela, Galicia.

 

Photo above and background:
© Google Street View

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Zuasti, E

Berliner Mauer in Zuasti, Spanien

Standort: Raststätte Zuasti an der A15 in der Nähe von Pamplona

1 Segment

Eine ungewöhnliche Marketingmaßnahme aber auch ein Zeichen des Friedens unmittelbar an der Grenze zum Baskenland: An der Autobahnraststätte Zuasti in der autonomen Region Navarra steht seit Mai 1991 das wohl ungewöhnlichste Mauerdenkmal, zumindest das Auffälligste.
Die Idee dazu geht auf den Anthropologen José Antonio Jáuregui Oroquieta zurück, der Entwurf für das Denkmal stammt aus der Feder des Architekten Fernando Redón Huici. Für die Beschaffung des Mauersegments war Manuel Romero zuständig.

Das Denkmal ist ergänzt mit einem Ausspruch des spanischen Diplomaten, Schriftstellers, Historikers und Pazifisten Salvador de Madariaga aus dem Jahre 1967: „Auf dem Weg zum Frieden in Europa muss die Berliner Mauer überwunden werden.“

Navarra zählt neben Katalonien, Galicien und Baskenland zu den historischen Nationen Spaniens, die seit 1980/1981 den Status autonome Region haben. Dieser Hintergrund gibt dem Denkmal eine zusätzliche Dimension, siehe auch Standort Redondela, Galicien

Foto oben und Hintergrund:
© Google Street View

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.