Redondela, E

Berlin Wall in Redondela, Spain

Location: at the Paseo Xunqueira

2 fragments of the outer Wall

 

These two fragments of the Berlin Wall had been standing almost unnoticed beneath a viadact close to the station since the early 1990s. On occasion of the 20th anniversary of the Fall of the Wall, the parts were carefully restaurated by the local artist Jesus Cameselle. In order to protect them from weather effects, they were set up under glas and moved to a more central site, in front of a multipurpose center. A plaque explains its origin:

The Wall was literally torn into pieces. The fragments have been and are in great demand for its historical value – they remind of barbarism, oppression and the lack of freedom – and at least for its artistic value.
The exhibits were brought to Redondela by the emigrant Manuel A. Figueroa Suarez in the early 1990s. Manuel Suarez is now living in Mallorca. His uncle Jacinto Suarez donated the pieces to the city council, in order to remind of a significant, historical event.

 

Galicia is beside Catalonia, Navarre and the Basque region a historical nation of Spain and has been an autonomous region since 1980/1981. This fact adds another dimension to the memorial. See also Berlin Wall site in Zuasti, Navarra.

Photo above and background:
© Still from YouTube Video

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Redondela, E

Berliner Mauer in Redondela, Spanien

Standort: im Ortszentrum an der Paseo Xunqueira

2 Teile aus der äußeren Mauer

 

Seit den frühen 1990er Jahren standen die beiden Mauerteile wenig beachtet unter einem Viadukt in der Nähe des Bahnhofs. Zum 20. Jahrestags des Mauerfalls wurden die Segmente aufwendig von dem ortsansässigen Künstler Jesus Cameselle restauriert, unter Beibehaltung der Patina, und zum weiteren Schutz vor Wind und Wetter in einen Glaskasten gestellt. Der neue Standort ist prominent im Ortszentrum vor der Mehrzweckhalle. Eine Tafel erklärt die Hintergründe:

Die Mauer wurde buchstäblich in Stücke gerissen. Deren Fragmente waren und sind heute begehrt für ihren historischen Wert – als Erinnerung an die Barbarei, an die Unterdrückung, den Mangel an Freiheit – und auch unter künstlerischen Gesichtspunkten
Die Exponate wurden in den frühen 90er Jahren von Manuel A. Figueroa Suarez, einem Auswanderer aus Redondela, aus Deutschland mitgebracht. Manuel Suarez lebt jetzt auf Mallorca. Sein Onkel Jacinto Suarez hat die Teile dem Stadtrat gespendet – als Andenken an einen entscheidenden, historischen Moment.

Galicien zählt neben Katalonien, Navarra und Baskenland zu den historischen Nationen Spaniens und haben seit 1980/1981 den Status autonome Region. Dieser Hintergrund gibt dem Denkmal eine zusätzliche Dimension, siehe auch Standort Zuasti, Navarra

 

 

Foto oben und Hintergrund:
© Still from YouTube Video

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.