Trondheim, N

Berlin Wall in Trondheim

Location: Trondheim Kunstmuseum Gråmølna
6 segments

On the 26th anniversary of the fall of the Berlin Wall, Trondheim municipality has commissioned the artist Lars Ø Ramberg to make a permanent sculpture outside of the venue Gråmølna at Trondheim kunstmuseum. Lars Ø Ramberg is a Norwegian artist living in Berlin. He is one of the most internationally acclaimed artists of our time.

“Kapitalistischer Realismus” – This work title is a tribute to the concept “Kapitalistischer Realismus” of the artists Gerhard Richter, Sigmar Polke, Konrad Fischer, and Manfred Kuttner. Their paintings were ironic comments and criticized the increasing consumerism of the German society in the 1960s. In 1961, Richter fled from the GDR to Düsseldorf, the same year, the Wall was built as an “anti-imperialistic defense wall”.

The conceptual art work for Trondheim “Kapitalistischer Realismus” deals with the present ambivalence between idealism and capitalism, between the administration of our historical heritage and new seductive market values. Today, cultural institutions are judged by their marketing and number of visitors – and artists are judged by their sense of entrepreneurship.

The Trondheim art museum Gråmølna, with the six segments of the Berlin Wall in front of it now, was formerly used as soup kitchen for poor dock workers, afterwards as police station. Today, the port district is transformed by the construction of luxury apartments and associated boat jetties. The place was renamed from Gråmølna (gray mill) to Solsiden (sunny side).

The Berlin Wall has changed from a symbol of the Cold War to a symbol of freedom. The fall of the Berlin Wall represents a reunited Germany and a united Europe. In spite of the historical value of the still existing remains of the Berlin Wall in situ, and  even though protected as a monument, companies are allowed to remove parts of the Wall along the river Spree. Today, the Wall, in my view, no longer symbolizes freedom but the venality of the symbolic value of this freedom like a kind of echo of itself. In order to ilustrate this problem, I myself became a buyer of the Wall and so to speak a “part of the problem”. (Text: Lars Ø. Ramberg)

 

Click to enlarge:

Photo above and background:
© Lars Ø Ramberg

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Trondheim, N

Berliner Mauer in Trondheim, N

Standort: Trondheim Kunstmuseum Gråmølna
6 Segmente

Anlässlich des 26. Jahrestages des Falls der Berliner Mauer hat die Stadt Trondheim den Künstler Lars Ø Ramberg beauftragt ein Kunstwerk zu entwerfen das als permanente Skulptur vor dem Trondheim kunstmuseum Gråmølna platziert werden soll. Ramberg, der seit Jahren in Berlin arbeitet, gilt als einer der anerkanntesten, zeitgenössischen Künstler international und beschreibt hier selbst sein Werk:

Kapitalistischer Realismus” – Der Werktitel ist eine Hommage an die Bewegung „Kapitalistischer Realismus“ von den Künstlern Gerhard Richter, Sigmar Polke, Konrad  Fischer und Manfred Kuttner. Ihre Bilder, waren ironische Kommentare und kritisierten das steigende Konsumverhalten der deutschen Gesellschaft in den 60er Jahren. Richter flüchtete 1961 aus der DDR und floh nach Düsseldorf, im selben Jahr indem die Mauer als „Antiimperialistischer Schutzwall“ errichtet wurde.

Das konzeptionelle Kunstwerk „Kapitalistischer Realismus“ für Trondheim setzt sich auseinander mit der heutigen Ambivalenz zwischen Idealismus und Kapitalismus, zwischen der Verwaltung unseres historischen Erbes und neuen verführerischen Marktwerten. Man beurteilt heute Kulturinstitutionen an ihrem Marketing und Ihren Besucherzahlen– Künstler an ihrem Sinn für Entrepreneurship.

Das Trondheim Kunstmuseum Gråmølna, vor dem die sechs Mauerteile jetzt stehen war früher Suppenstation für arme Hafenarbeiter und Polizeistelle. Heute ist das Hafengebiet verwandelt durch den Bau von Luxuswohnungen und dazugehörigen Bootsanlegestellen. Der Ort wurde von Gråmølna (Graue Mühle) zu Solsiden (Sonnenseite) umbenannt.

Die Berliner Mauer ist von einem Symbol des Kalten Krieges zu einem Symbol der Freiheit geworden. Der Fall der Berliner Mauer repräsentiert ein wiedervereinigtes Deutschland und ein vereintes Europa. Trotz des historischen Wertes der noch erhaltenen Berliner Mauer, und obwohl sie denkmalgeschützt ist, dürfen Grossunternehmer Teile des Mauerdenkmals, entlang der Spree, entfernen. Heute symbolisiert die Mauer, aus meiner Sicht nicht mehr die Freiheit, sondern die Käuflichkeit des Symbolwertes dieser Freiheit, wie eine Art Echo von sich selbst. Um diese Problematik zu verdeutlichen bin ich selbst Käufer der Mauer geworden und sozusagen ein „Teil des Problems“. (Text: Lars Ø Ramberg)

Zum Vergrößern aufs Bild klicken:

Foto oben und Hintergrund:
© Lars Ø Ramberg

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.