Los Angeles, CA – LMU

Berlin Wall in Los Angeles

Location: Loyola Marymount University

1 segment from Waldemarstraße, Kreuzberg

 

In 1996 Dirk Verheyen, political scientist and former professor at Loyola Marymount University approached the then Mayor of Berlin, Eberhard Diegen, with the request to honor the twinning between Berlin and Los Angeles with a segment of the Wall.

No sooner said than done: Verheyen could choose freely from the remaining parts, which once were intended to be sold off by the East German government. The selected segment originated from a section of the Wall in Kreuzberg which was artfully painted by Thierry Noir in 1987.

With an exciting and interesting video project, the Canadian artists Vid Ingelevics and Blake Fitzpatrick are trying to capture the tension between the past and the present: Freedom Rocks – the everyday life of the Berlin Wall in a contemporary post-Cold War context:

 

Sites: Loyola Marymount University, Los Angeles, California* from Vid Ingelevics on Vimeo. Licensed under CC BY-NC-ND 3.0

* The video title erroneously indicates a wrong site.

Click to enlarge:

 

 

Photo above and background:
© Standbild aus Videoclip von Vid Ingelevics

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Los Angeles, CA – LMU

Berlin Wall Los Angeles Loyola Marymount University

Standort: Loyola Marymount University

1 Segment aus der Waldemarstraße, Kreuzberg.

Dirk Verheyen, Politikwissenschaftler und ehemaliger Dozent an der Loyola Marymount University wandte sich 1996 an den damals Regierenden Bürgermeister Berlins, Eberhard Diegen, mit der Bitte, die Städtepartnerschaft zwischen Berlin und Los Angeles mit einem Mauersegment für Los Angeles zu würdigen.

Gesagt, getan: Verheyen konnte aus den Restbeständen, der einst von der DDR-Regierung für den Verkauf vorgesehenen Elemente, frei wählen. Das ausgewählte Segment stammt ursprünglich aus einem Mauerabschnitt in Kreuzberg, der 1987 von Thierry Noir kunstvoll besprüht wurde.

Mit einem spannenden und interessanten Videoprojekt versuchen die kanadischen Künstler Vid Ingelevics und Blake Fitzpatrick das Spannungsfeld zwischen dem historischen Kontext und der Gegenwart einzufangen, Freedom Rocks, the everyday life of the Berlin Wall in a contemporary post-Cold War context:

 

Sites: Loyola Marymount University, Los Angeles, California* from Vid Ingelevics on Vimeo. Licensed under CC BY-NC-ND 3.0

* Im Titel des Videos ist irrtümlicherweise ein anderer Standort angegeben.

Zum Vergrößern aufs Bild klicken:

 

 

Foto oben und Hintergrund:
© Standbild aus Videoclip von Vid Ingelevics

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.