Lismore, IRL

Berlin Wall in Waterford

Location: Lismore Castle Gardens

2 segments

 

Lismore Castle, in the south of Ireland, is well known for its magnificent 17th century gardens with a large collection of rhododendrons, camellias and magnolias. Lismore Castle Gardens are open to visitors daily. In March 2015 two segments of the Berlin Wall were added to the vast area.
Lismore Castle Gardens are belonging to the Duke of Devonshire. The estate is managed by his son and his wife, Lord and Lady Burlington. The latter spontaneously decided during a visit to Berlin in 2014, to acquire two Wall segments for their historical gardens, as a reminder of one of the most significant episodes of European history of recent years.

Given the decades-long conflict in Northern Ireland, which was settled in 1998 with the Good Friday Agreement, the segments of the Berlin Wall are certainly a monument to the history of Ireland and a reminder to resolve conflicts without violence.
Click to enlarge:
Photo above and background:
Two sections of the Berlin Wall installed in Lismore Castle Gardens in March 2015. © Lismore Castle Arts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Waterford, IRL

Berliner Mauer in Waterford, Irland

Standort: Waterford, Lismore Castle Gardens

2 Segmente

 

Lismore Castle, im Süden Irlands, ist vor allem berühmt für seine prächtigen Gärten aus dem 17. Jahrhundert mit umfangreichen Sammlungen an Rhododendren, Kamelien und Magnolien. Lismore Castle Gardens ist täglich für Besucher geöffnet. Seite März 2015 zieren zwei Segmente der Berliner Mauer das weitläufifge Areal.

Die Gärten von Lismore Castle gehören dem Duke of Devonshire. Verwaltet wird das Anwesen von dessen Sohn und seiner Gattin Lord und Lady Burlington. Letztere hatten bei einem Besuch in Berlin 2014 spontan beschlossen, zwei Mauersegmente für ihren historischen Garten zu akquirieren, als Erinnerung an eines der einschneidensten Ereignisse in der jüngeren europäischen Geschichte.

Angesichts des jahrzehntelangen Nordirlandkonflikts, der erst 1998 mit dem Karfreitagsabkommen beigelegt wurde, sind die Segmente der Berliner Mauer sicher auch ein Denkmal für die eigene Geschichte Irlands und eine Mahnung dazu, Konflikte gewaltfrei beizulegen.

Zum Vergrößern aufs Bild klicken:

 

Foto oben und Hintergrund:
Two sections of the Berlin Wall installed in Lismore Castle Gardens in March 2015. © Lismore Castle Arts

 

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.