Washington, D.C. – German Embassy

Berlin Wall in Washington D.C.

Location: German Embassy, temporarily
new site: U.S. Diplomacy Center

1 segment

 

Erected in November 2014 close to the German Embassy in Washington, this segment of the Berlin Wall has an eventful past: It is signed by Helmut Kohl, George Bush sen., Michail Gorbachev and other political leaders and persons of influence, who played a part in the Cold War ending. For this reason it was travelling and exhibited in a number of cities across Germany.

This segment is a donation of the former owner Leipziger Verbundnetz AG, a regional natural gasoline supplier, to the  Atlantic Council. For Peter Wittig, German Embassador in Washington, the segment is a symbol for a peaceful revolution and a victory of freedom against oppression.

In Leipzig, the segment was sent on its way with a ceremonial act. After nearly a year at the German Embassy in Washington, DC this historic piece of the Berlin Wall made its final journey to the US Diplomacy Center on August 13, 2015. A Storify reports on the move within Washington, DC.

 

 

Photo above and background:
Still from YouTube Clip

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Washington D.C. – Deutsche Botschaft

Berliner Mauer in Washington D.C.

Standort: Deutsche Botschaft, temporär
neuer Standort: U.S. Diplomacy Center

1 Segment

 

Das im November 2014 neben der Deutschen Botschaft in Washington aufgestellte Mauersegment hat eine bewegte Geschichte: Zum einen trägt es die Unterschriften von Helmut Kohl, George Bush sen., Michail Gorbatschov und anderen politischen Führern und einflussreichen Personen, die das Ende des Kalten Krieges mitbeeinflusst haben. Zum anderen ging dieses Segment, das zuvor der Leipziger Verbundnetz AG gehörte, auf eine Reise quer durch Deutschland, wo es an verschiedenen Orten ausgestellt wurde.

Das Segment ist eine Schenkung des Leipziger Erdgaslieferanten an das Atlantic Council. Für Peter Wittig, deutscher Botschafter in Washington, ist das Segment Symbol für eine friedliche Revolution und den Sieg der Freiheit über die Unterdrückung.

Mit einem Festakt wurde das Segment zuvor feierlich in Leipzig verabschiedet. Am 13. August 2015 wurde es schließlich an seinen endgültigen Standort, dem U.S. Diplomacy Center, verlegt. Über den Umzug innerhalb Washingtons berichtet ein Storify.

 

Foto oben und Hintergrund:
Standbild aus YouTube Clip

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.