Verdun, F

Berlin Wall in Verdun, France

Location: Centre mondial de la Paix
The original graffito Can I stay? by Wee Flowers covers three segments. The other parts are now in Schengen (Luxembourg) and Kiev (Ukraine).

1 segment

 

In Verdun, located in the northeast of France, World War I showed its ugliest grimace hitherto: In a ten month lasting battle between German and French troops more than 300,000 soldiers were killed, about 400,000 were wounded.

In recent history Verdun transformed itself more and more into a capital of peace, not least by the meeting of French President Francois Miterrand and German Chanceller Helmut Kohl in 1984. Their joint moment of silence for the victims of the Battle of Verdun became a symbol of Franco-German reconciliation.

Today Verdun is a national memorial and home to the Centre mondial de la Paix, which is based in the former archibishop’s resident. The world peace center is dedicated to a lasting peace in the world, freedom and human rights.

On occasion of the 25th anniversary of the fall of the Wall a segment of the Berlin Wall was set up in the garden of the Centre mondial de la Paix. The gift of the city of Berlin serves now as a symbol for lasting peace in Europe and the close ties of Germany and France.


Fragment Mur de Berlin au CMDLP

 

 

 

Photo above and background:
© phillippebrédowy/Twitter

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Verdun, F

Berliner Mauer in Verdun

Standort: Centre mondial de la Paix
Das Original-Graffito Can I stay? von Wee Flowers erstreckt sich über drei Segmente. Die anderen Teile stehen jetzt in Kiew (Ukraine) und Schengen (Luxemburg).

1 Segment

 

In Verdun, im Nordosten Frankreichs gelegen, zeigte der Erste Weltkrieg seine bis dahin hässlichste Fratze: In einer zehn Monate währenden Schlacht zwischen deutschen und französischen Truppen fanden im Jahr 1916 mehr als 300.000 Soldaten den Tod, rund 400.000 wurden verletzt.

In der jüngsten Geschichte wandelte sich Verdun mehr und mehr zur Welthauptstadt des Friedens. Nicht zuletzt durch das Treffen des französischen Präsidenten Francois Miterrand und Bundeskanzler Helmut Kohl im Jahr 1984. Das gemeinsame stille Gedenken am Ort der Schlacht von Verdun ist zum Symbol der deutsch-französischen Versöhnung geworden.

Verdun ist heute eine nationale Gedenkstätte und Heimat des Centre mondial de la Paix mit Sitz in der ehemals erzbischöflichen Residenz. Das Weltfriedenszentrum widmet sich dem dauerhaften Frieden in der Welt, der Freiheit und der Menschenrechte.

Im Garten des Centre mondial de la Paix wurde aus Anlass des 25. Jahrestags des Mauerfalls im Herbst 2014 ein Segment der Berliner Mauer aufgestellt und eingeweiht. Das Geschenk der Stadt Berlin steht hier als Symbol für einen dauerhaften Frieden in Europa und der engen Verbundenheit Deutschlands und Frankreichs.


Fragment Mur de Berlin au CMDLP

 

Foto oben und Hintergrund:
© philippebrégowy/Twitter

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.