Sopron, H


Location: Pan-European Picnic Memorial Park
1 segment

Near the Hungarian town of Sopron, located on the Austrian-Hungarian border, history was made on 19 August 1989: Under the agreement of both countries, a border crossing on the old Pressburger Landstrasse between St. Margarethen in Burgenland and Sopronköhida (Steinambrückl) in Hungary was supposed to be symbolically opened for three hours. The original plan was to hold a peace demonstration, a Pan-European Picnic, which in the end turned into another step to the fall of the Berlin Wall.

This was preceded by Hungary’s entry into the UN Refugee Convention in March 1989. This entry overwrote all previous bilateral extradition treaties and changed the usual procedure for extraditing the numerous GDR border crossers. The latter then thought they were already free by travelling to Hungary. This atmosphere was further fuelled in May 1989 by Hungary’s announcement that it would begin dismantling the Iron Curtain at the Austro-Hungarian border. 

However border crossers continued to be prevented from crossing into Austria by the Hungarian border police and were turned back. A mobile border area surveillance unit tracked down potential refugees even in the wider border area and sent them back as well.

Protests were formed: Opposition organisations from Sopron organised a celebration for European unity on 19 August 1989, the so-called Pan-European Picnic. With the agreement of both countries, the border was to be opened for three hours from 3 p.m. on that day. Around 700 GDR citizens had made their way there and had been camping nearby in uncertainty for days. Hours before the event began, they flocked to the scene and broke through the border in several waves without Hungarian border police officers intervening.

The Pan-European Picnic in August 1989 thus became a first, forced and spectacular opening of the Iron Curtain before the Berlin Wall fell in November 1989 and the borders were finally opened.

Today, at this site, the Gateway to Freedom, a memorial with a visitor centre, display boards, a peace bell, remaining remnants of the Iron Curtain and a segment of the Berlin Wall, provides information about the events. 

Photo above and background:
© Gerencsér Alexandra, Facebook

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Sopron, H

Berliner Mauer in Sopron, Ungarn

Standort: Paneuropäischer Picknick Gedenkpark
1 Segment

In der Nähe der ungarischen Stadt Sopron, an der österreichisch-ungarischen Grenze gelegen, wurde am 19. August 1989 Geschichte geschrieben: Mit Zustimmung beider Länder sollte ein Grenzübergang an der alten Pressburger Landstraße zwischen St. Margarethen im Burgenland und Sopronköhida (Steinambrückl) in Ungarn symbolisch für drei Stunden geöffnet werden. Ursprünglich geplant war eine Friedensdemonstration, ein Paneuropäisches Picknick, das sich am Ende zu einem weiteren Baustein zum Fall der Berliner Mauer entwickelte.

Vorausgegangen war im März 1989 der Beitritt Ungarns zur UN Flüchtlingskonvention. Dieser Beitritt überschrieb alle bisherigen bilateralen Auslieferungsabkommen und änderte das bisher übliche Verfahren bei der Auslieferung der zahlreichen DDR Grenz-Übertreter. Diese wähnten sich daraufhin durch eine Reise nach Ungarn bereits in Freiheit. Angeheizt wurde die Stimmung im Mai 1989 durch die Ankündigung Ungarns, an der österreichisch-ungarischen Grenze mit der Demontage des Eisernen Vorhangs zu beginnen. 

Tatsächlich aber wurden Grenzgänger weiterhin von der ungarischen Grenzpolizei am Übertritt nach Österreich gehindert und zurückgewiesen. Eine mobile Grenzraumüberwachung spürte potenzielle Flüchtlinge selbst im weiteren Grenzraum auf und schickte diese ebenfalls zurück.

Dagegen formierte sich Protest: Oppositionelle Organisationen aus Sopron organisierten für den 19. August 1989 eine Feier für die europäische Einheit, das sogenannte Paneuropäische Picknick. Mit Zustimmung beider Länder sollte ab 15 Uhr an diesem Tag für drei Stunden die Grenze geöffnet werden. Rund 700 DDR Bürger hatten sich auf den Weg gemacht und campierten bereits seit Tagen in der Nähe in Ungewissheit. Schon Stunden vor Veranstaltungsbeginn strömten sie zum Schauplatz und durchbrachen in mehreren Wellen die Grenze, ohne dass ungarische Grenzpolizisten eingriffen.

Das Paneuropäische Picknick im August 1989 wurde so zu einer ersten, erzwungenen und spektakulären Öffnung des Eisernen Vorhangs, bevor im November 1989 die Mauer fiel und die Grenzen endgültig geöffnet wurden.

Heute informiert an diesem Ort, dem Tor zur Freiheit, eine Gedenkstätte mit Besucherzentrum, Schautafeln, Friedensglocke und verbliebenen Resten des Eisernen Vorhanges, einem Segment der Berliner Mauer, an die Ereignisse. 

Foto oben und Hintergrund:
© Gerencsér Alexandra, Facebook

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

Diese Website verwendet Akismet, um Spam zu reduzieren. Erfahre mehr darüber, wie deine Kommentardaten verarbeitet werden.