Singapore, SGP – UTown

Berlin Wall in Singapore

Location: University Town, National University of Singapore

2 segments

 


These two segments of the Berlin Wall were donated in 2015 by Mr Elmar Prost (Lagerhaus KW GmbH) to the Singapore Government to mark 50 years of diplomatic relations between Singapore and Germany. They are on loan to the National University of Singapore (NUS) through the Singapore Ministry of Foreign Affairs and are currently the only Berlin Wall segments in Singapore.

These walls are on display at NUS University Town and were officially unveiled by Dr Vivian Balakrishnan, Singapore Minister for Foreign Affairs; His Excellency Dr Michael Witter, Ambassador of the Federal Republic of Germany to Singapore; and Professor Tommy Koh, Rector of Tembusu College at NUS on 18 October 2016. A Tembusu Forum on the historical significance of the Cold War was held in conjunction with the unveiling at Tembusu College.

The NUS University Town, or UTown for short, is an educational hub complete with residential spaces and learning facilities. Having these Cold War artefacts in UTown adds to the lively intellectual, social and cultural environment of the University and its aim for excellence in learning and student engagement. (Text: National University of Singapore)

Balakrishnan said in his opening remarks: I hope these two artefacts will continue to inspire the next generation to believe in an open world. (..) Because ideas in fact derive their value not by scarcity but by being shared.

Click to enlarge:

Photo above and background:
© by National University of Singapore

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Singapur, SGP – UTown

Berliner Mauer in Singapur

Standort: University Town, National University of Singapore

2 Segmente

 

Diese beiden Mauersegmente wurden 2015 von Elmar Prost (Lagerhaus KW GmbH) der Regierung von Singapur überlassen und symbolisieren 50 Jahre diplomatischer Beziehung zwischen Singapur und Deutschland. Zur Zeit sind dies die einzigen Segmente der Berliner Mauer in Singapur und wurden der National University of Singapore (NUS) durch das Singapore Ministry of Foreign Affairs zur Verfügung gestellt.

Die Segmente wurden in der NUS University Town aufgestellt und am 18. Oktober 2016 offiziell eingeweiht von Dr. Vivian Balakrishnan, Singapore Minister for Foreign Affairs, seiner Exzellenz Dr. Michael Witter, Deutscher Botschafter in Singapur und Professor Tommy Koh, Rektor des Tembusu College an der NUS. Im Rahmen der Einweihungszeremonie hat das Tembusu College ein Podiumsgespräch zur historischen Bedeutung des Kalten Krieges initiiert.

Die University Town, kurz UTown, ist ein Zentrum für Forschung und Lehre, ein educational hub der National University of Singapore, mit fünf Colleges und mehreren Forschungseinrichtungen. Die Relikte des Kalten Krieges stehen hier in einem lebhaft intellektuellen, sozialen und kulturellen Umfeld und unterstreichen den Anspruch der Universität auf exzellente Lehre und studentisches Engagement. (Text: National University of Singapore/Übersetzung: The Wall Net)

Balakrishnan sagte in seiner Rede, dieses Denkmal sei auch eine Mahnung an zukünftige Generationen, die Welt als eine offene zu gestalten, in der man aufeinander zugeht statt sich voneinander abzugrenzen.

Zum Vergrößern aufs Bild klicken:

Foto oben und Hintergrund:
© by National University of Singapore

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.