Reston, VA

Berlin Wall in Reston

Location: Bundeswehr administrator for the USA and Canada

1 segment from Waldemarstraße

 

The Bundeswehr administrator in Reston, Virginia, is responsible for the administrative and economic support of all troops, departments or other bodies of the German Bundeswehr in the US and Canada. For the opening of the new building in 1991 a Wall segment was erected in front of the building as a lasting reminder and memorial. It is available to the public.

This segment of the Berlin Wall – here also shown from the West Berlin side in its design as of 1987 – was situated at Waldemar Street in Berlin-Kreuzberg. After the fall of the Wall, this portion of the Berlin Wall was disassembled by the still existing government of the German Democratic Republic (GDR) with the aim to sell the single segments on the international art market due to the value of the graffiti paintings. This section of the Berlin wall was decorated by the famous French Wall Artist Thierry Noir.

After the former GDR government did not succeed in selling, this segment of the Berlin Wall was flown over the Atlantic in a German Air Force Transport Aircraft in 1991 and was installed here at the German Armed Forces building in Reston, Virginia.

Here this remnant of the Berlin Wall is preserved out of a sense of historical responsibility to recall history and the consequences of the second dictatorship established on German soil in the 20th century and to admonish us to work for peace, freedom, and justice. At this location, it is a symbol of German-American friendship and an expression of gratitude for the invaluable assistance rendered by the United States of America and its Armed Forces in securing the safety and freedom of Berlin and the Federal Republic of Germany, in bringing down the Wall, and in supporting the German reunification. (Text: Bundeswehr)

Click to enlarge:

 

Photo above and background:
© Bundeswehr/Walter Froehler

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Reston, VA

Berliner Mauer in Reston

Standort: Bundeswehrverwaltungsstelle für die USA u. Kanada

1 Segment aus der Waldemarstraße

 

Die Bundeswehr Verwaltungsstelle in Reston, Virginia, ist für die verwaltungsmäßige und wirtschaftliche Betreuung aller Truppen, Dienststellen und sonstigen Einrichtungen der Bundeswehr in den USA und Kanada verantwortlich. Zur Inbetriebnahme des neuen Gebäudes wurde 1991 ein Mauersegment als dauerhaftes Mahn- und Denkmal vor den Eingang gestellt und ist dort öffentlich zugänglich.

Dieses Segment der Berliner Mauer – hier ebenfalls auf einer Aufnahme von 1987 an seinem Ursprungsort zusehen – stammt aus der Waldemarstraße in Berlin/Kreuzberg. Das Segment wurde nach dem Fall der Mauer von der noch existierenden Deutschen Demokratischen Republik abgebaut. Ziel war es, das Segment, das von dem renommierten französischen Mauerkünstler Thierry Noir bemalt wurde, meistbietend auf dem internationalen Kunstmarkt zu verkaufen.

Der Versuch schlug fehl. 1991 wurde das Segment mit einer Transportmaschine der Bundeswehr über den Atlantik geflogen und vor der Verwaltungsstelle der Bundeswehr in Reston, Virginia aufgestellt.

Hier wird das Mauersegment aus historischer Verantwortung konserviert. Es soll an die Konsequenzen erinnern, die eine zweite Diktatur zur Folge hatte, die auf deutschem Boden im 20. Jahrhundert errichtet wurde. Es soll uns dazu ermahnen, unsere Kraft für Frieden, Freiheit und Gerechtigkeit einzusetzen. Zugleich ist es ein Symbol für die deutsch-amerikanische Freundschaft und ein Zeichen des Danks. Ein Dank für die unermüdliche Unterstützung der Vereinigten Staaten von Amerika und seiner Streitkräfte bei der Wahrung von Sicherheit und Frieden in Berlin und der Bundesrepublik Deutschland, bei dem Fall der Berliner Mauer und im Rahmen der Wiedervereinigung. (Text: Bundeswehr)

Zum Vergrößern aufs Bild klicken:
[gallery_bank type=“images“ format=“thumbnail“ title=“true“ desc=“false“ responsive=“true“ animation_effect=“fadeIn“ album_title=“false“ album_id=“243″]

Foto oben und Hintergrund:
© Bundeswehr/Walter Froehler

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.