London, GB – Migration Museum


Location: Migration Museum at Lewisham Shopping Center
2 segments

On the occasion of the 30th anniversary of the Fall of the Wall, the International War Museum in London set up two more Berlin Wall segments and had them designed by two renown artists: STIK from Great Britain and Thierry Noir from Germany.

In February 2020, the segments were moved to the Migration Museum at Lewisham Shopping Center and will remain until end of 2020. The Migration Museum explains in its website:

The Berlin Wall stood for 28 years, a physical and metaphorical barrier between Eastern and Western Europe, a division between cultures and political systems, the embodiment of the enforced separation of a people. It is a monument to living history and is still relevant to our lives today.

This work, drawn directly onto two pieces of the Berlin Wall by artists STIK and Thierry Noir, sends a powerful message about how we as individuals can maintain connections across borders, walls and barriers. Walls can be built to keep people in or out but eventually walls are pulled down by the power of the people.

These figures represent everything we do at the Migration Museum: providing a space for dialogue and reflection across divides and for finding what we have in common. They are guardians ‘protecting’ our space and act as a symbol of friendship to all without exception.

 

Sieh dir diesen Beitrag auf Instagram an

 

Ein Beitrag geteilt von Nelly Balazs (@monoprixx) am

Photo above and background:
© Nelly Balazs/Instagram

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

London, GB – Migration Museum


Standort: Migration Museum im Lewisham Shopping Center
2 Segmente

Anlässlich des 30. Jahrestag des Mauerfalls stellte das International War Museum in London zwei weitere Segmente in seinen Park und ließ diese von renommierten Künstlern gestalten: von STIK aus Großbritannien und Thierry Noir aus Deutschland.

Im Februar 2020 zogen die Segmente um ins Migration Museum und bleiben dort bis voraussichtlich Ende des Jahres. Auf seiner Website schreibt das Museum dazu:

Die Berliner Mauer stand 28 Jahre lang, sie war eine physische und metaphorische Barriere zwischen Ost- und Westeuropa, eine Trennung zwischen Kulturen und politischen Systemen, die Verkörperung der erzwungenen Trennung eines Volkes. Die Reste der Berliner Mauer sind ein Denkmal für lebendige Geschichte und bis heute relevant für unser Leben.

Die Arbeiten der Künstler STIK und Thierry Noir auf den beiden Segmenten der Berliner Mauer vermitteln eine starke Botschaft darüber, wie wir als Individuen Verbindungen über Grenzen, Mauern und Barrieren hinweg aufrechterhalten können. Mauern können gebaut werden, um Menschen ein- oder auszusperren, aber schließlich werden Mauern durch die Macht des Volkes niedergerissen.

Diese Exponate repräsentieren alles, was wir im Migration Museum tun: Sie bieten Raum für Dialog und Reflexion über Unterschiede hinweg und um herauszufinden, was wir gemein haben. Sie sind Wächter, die unseren Raum „schützen“ und ausnahmslos ein Symbol der Freundschaft für alle.

 

Sieh dir diesen Beitrag auf Instagram an

 

Ein Beitrag geteilt von Nelly Balazs (@monoprixx) am

Foto oben und Hintergrund:
© Nelly Balazs/Instagram

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

Diese Website verwendet Akismet, um Spam zu reduzieren. Erfahre mehr darüber, wie deine Kommentardaten verarbeitet werden.