Havixbeck, NW

Berlin Wall in Havixbeck

Location: close to the Anne-Frank-School

1 segment

It was even before November 9th 1989 when the Council of the Westphalian municipality Havixbeck, located in the western Muensterland, intented to partner with a community in the other part of Germany. The opening of the Berlin Wall gave this desire a whole new dimension. By the Federation of Municipal Authorities Havixbeck came together quickly with the community of Bestensee in Brandenburg and maintains a lively exchange since then.

Since 1991 a Wall segment is symbolising this partnerhip in Havixbeck. Originally it was set up next to the fire station, later it was moved to the brink of the school ground. The segment is a gift of the 3rd battery of armored brigade battalion 195 from Handorf. Units of the German Bundeswehr were involved in the demolition of the border fortifications after reunification.

The quote by John F. Kennedy on a stele next to the Wall segment was choosen by a history class, to attract citizen’s and visitor’s attention and to give them food for thoughts. It was taken from a letter by Kennedy to Willy Brandt in 1961: “A wall is a hell of a lot better than a war.”
The stele was officially inaugurated in March 2016 on the occasion of the visit of exchange students from the U.S.

Click to enlarge:

 

Photo above and background:
© Thomas Mohn

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Havixbeck, NW

Berliner Mauer in Havixbeck

Standort: vor der Anne-Frank-Gesamtschule

1 Segment

 

Schon vor dem 09. November 1989 gab es im Rat der westfälischen Gemeinde Havixbeck, im westlichen Münsterland gelegen, die Idee einer Partnerschaft mit einer Gemeinde im anderen Teil Deutschlands. Durch die Öffnung der Mauer bekam dieser Wunsch eine ganz neue Dimension. Über den Städte- und Gemeindebund kam man schnell mit der brandenburgischen Gemeinde Bestensee zusammen und pflegt seitdem einen regen Austausch.

Zum Zeichen dieser Verbundenheit steht seit 1991 ein Mauersegment in Havixbeck, über Jahre hinweg neben dem Feuerwehrgerätehaus, später wurde es an den Rand der neuen Schulanlage umgesetzt. Das Segment ist ein Geschenk der Havixbecker Patenbatterie der Bundeswehr, der 3. Batterie des Panzerartilleriebataillons 195 aus Handorf. Einheiten der Bundeswehr waren nach der Wiedervereinigung am Abriss der Grenzanlagen beteiligt.

Das Zitat von John F. Kennedy auf der Stele neben dem Mauersegment wurde von einem Geschichtskurs der Schule ausgewählt, um Bürgern und Besuchern der Gemeinde Anlass zum Nachdenken und Verweilen zu gegeben. Es stammt aus einem Brief von Kennedy an Willy Brandt aus dem Jahr 1961: „Eine Mauer ist verdammt noch mal besser als ein Krieg.“
Anlässlich eines Besuchs von Austauschschülern aus den USA wurde die Stelle im März 2016 offiziell eingeweiht.

Zum Vergrößern aufs Bild klicken:

Foto oben und Hintergrund:
© Thomas Mohn

 

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.