Grou, NL

Berlin Wall in Grou, The Netherlands

Location: Museum Bescherming Bevolking, Commandopost Grou

1 segment

 

The Bescherming Bevolking is a post-war organization founded by the Dutch government in 1952. The organization was part of the civil defense and should protect the population against the immediate consequences of war violence during the Cold War. Later, the Bescherming Bevolking also was responsible for extinguishing fires and rescuing people.

The Bescherming Bevolking was not a military organization, but an organization of citizens to help the population. At peak time 165,000 people were involved in the activities of the B.B. In 1986, the Bescherming Bevolking has been dissolved as a result of the reorganization of disaster control. The tasks have been transferred to the Fire Brigade and the Red Cross.

The Museum Bescherming Bevolking preserves the memory of this chapter of history. In addition to the bunkers at Commandopost Grou, a segment of the Berlin Wall was set up in autumn 2017 – as a symbol of the history but also as a symbol of vigilance.

 

Photo above and background:
© Still from YouTube clip

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Grou, NL

Berliner Mauer in Grou

Standort: Museum Bescherming Bevolking, Commandopost Grou

1 Segment

Die Bescherming Bevolking ist eine Nachkriegsorganisation, die 1952 von der Regierung gegründet wurde. Die Organisation war Teil der Zivilverteidigung und hatte die Aufgabe, die Bevölkerung vor den unmittelbaren Folgen der Kriegsgewalt in der Zeit des Kalten Krieges zu schützen. Darüber hinaus wurde die Bescherming Bevolking auch zum Katastrophenschutz herangezogen. Die Organisation war verantwortlich für Brandbekämpfung, die Rettung von Menschen und den Schutz der Bevölkerung.

Die Bescherming Bevolking war keine militärische Organisation, sondern eine Organisation von Bürgern, um der Bevölkerung zu helfen. In Spitzenzeiten zählte die Organisation 165.000 Aktive. 1986 wurde die Organisation infolge der Reorganisation des Katastrophenmanagements aufgelöst, die Aufgaben wurden unter anderem der Feuerwehr und dem Roten Kreuz übertragen.

Das Museum Bescherming Bevolking versucht die Erinnerung an dieses Kapitel der Geschichte zu bewahren. Neben den Bunkeranlagen am Commandopost Grou wurde im Herbst 2017 ein Segment der Berliner Mauer aufgestellt – als weiteres Symbol der Zeit aber auch als Symbol für Wachsamkeit.

Foto oben und Hintergrund:
© Still aus YouTube-Film

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.