Fátima, P

Berlin Wall in Fatima

Location: Santuário de Fátima

1 segment

 

The history of the pilgrimage site Fátima goes back to a Marian apparition in 1917. In one of the prophecies, which were recorded many years later, the end of the communist regime was prophesied.

When the Wall came down, many Catholics recognize the truth of the prophecy. Small stones from the Wall were passed as presents from pilgrams to the sanctuary. These were excelled of an entire segment, which made its way to Portugal in 1991.

A request was preceded by Virgilio Ferreira, a Portuguese living in Germany, with the support of the Portuguese Consulate General in Frankfurt / Main at Lothar de Maizière, the last East German Prime Minister.

In the weeks immediately after the set up of the segment, Pope John Paul II visited the place of pilgrimage and blessed the Wall segment on this occasion. In the following years, the segment  was enclosed with a roof and a semi-circular glass protection against the weather.

click to enlarge:

 

Photo above and background:
© by David Samuel Santos. Licensed under CC BY-NC-SA 2.0

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Fátima, P

Berliner Mauer in Fatima

Standort: Santuário de Fátima

1 Segment

 

Die Geschichte der Pilgerstätte Fátima geht auf eine Marienerscheinung im Jahre 1917 zurück. In einer der Weissagungen, die viele Jahre später aufgezeichnet wurden, wurde u.a. das Ende der kommunistischen Regimes prophezeit.

In dem Fall der Mauer erkannten viele Katholiken die Wahrhaftigkeit der Prophezeiung. Kleinere Steine aus der Mauer wurden als Pilgergeschenke dem Heiligtum übergeben. Übertroffen wurden diese aber von einem ganzen Segment, das 1991 seinen Weg nach Portugal fand.

Vorausgegangen war eine Initiative des in Deutschland lebenden Portugiesen Virgilio Ferreira mit Unterstützung des portugiesischen Generalkonsulats in Frankfurt/Main bei Lothar de Maizière, dem letzten DDR Ministerpräsidenten.

In den Wochen unmittelbar nach der Aufstellung des Segments besuchte Papst Johannes Paul II die Pilgerstätte und segnete bei dieser Gelegenheit das Mauersegment. In den Jahren darauf wurde aus dem Mauerstück ein Denkmal gebaut, Überdachung und eine halbrunde Glasscheibe schützen vor Witterungseinflüssen.

Zum Vergrößern aufs Bild klicken:

 

Foto oben und Hintergrund:
© by David Samuel Santos. Licensed under CC BY-NC-SA 2.0

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.