Buechen, SH

Berlin Wall in Büchen

Location: Buechen-Dorf

1 segment

 

The segment was donated in 1994 by the tank bataillon 164 of the Bundeswehr, when the tank brigade 16 from Lauenburg was dissolved. The bataillon was involved in the dismanteling of the Berlin Wall in 1990.

The railway station Buechen was a border station to the GDR along the line Hamburg-Berlin with an important freight handling capacity of inner-German commodity trading. In the 1950s more than 250,000 late repatriates and late returnees from Eastern Europe entered the Federal Republic of Germany via Buechen.

In 1976, Michael Gartenschläger was shot at the nearby border while he was trying to dismantle an automatic firing device (SM 70) at the border fence at Bröthen.

This segment reminds the German division and is part of a permanent exhibition by the Priesterkate Büchen, a cultural center and café, which addresses i.a. school classes, future generations. The former mayor Günter Mund, the former Lieutenant Colonel Michael Güntner and Dr. Heinz Bohlmann were engaged in the installation of the Wall segment. (Text: Bohlmann)

Click to enlarge:

Photo above and background:
© Amt Büchen /Dr. Heinz Bohlmann

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Büchen, SH

Berliner Mauer in Büchen

Standort: Büchen-Dorf

1 Segment

 

Das Segment wurde 1994 durch das Panzerbataillon 164 aufgestellt, als die im Kreis Herzogtum Lauenburg stationierte Panzergrenadierbrigade 16 aufgelöst wurde. Das Bataillon war 1990 am Abbau der Berliner Mauer beteiligt.

Der Bahnhof Büchen war Grenzbahnhof zur DDR an der Strecke Hamburg-Berlin mit bedeutendem Güterumschlag im innerdeutschen Warenhandel. In den 1950er Jahren reisten über 250.000 Spätaussiedler und Spätheimkehrer aus Osteuropa über den Bahnhof Büchen in die Bundesrepublik ein.

1976 wurde Michael Gartenschläger in der Nähe von Büchen an der Grenze erschossen bei dem Versuch, eine dritte Selbstschussanlage (Mine) vom Typ SM 70 am Grenzzaun bei Bröthen zu demontieren.

Das Mauersegment erinnert an die Teilung Deutschlands und dient zusammen mit einer kleinen Dauerausstellung in der Priesterkate Büchen, einem Kulturzentrum und Café, den Besuchern (auch Schulkassen) als Erinnerung, Mahnung und der schulischen Bildung der nachfolgenden Generationen. Für die Aufstellung des Mauersegmentes haben sich seinerzeit engagiert Bürgermeister a.D. der Gemeinde Büchen Günter Mund, Oberstleutnant a.D. Michael Güntner und Dr. Heinz Bohlmann. (Text: Bohlmann)

Zum Vergrößern aufs Bild klicken:
[gallery_bank type=“images“ format=“thumbnail“ title=“true“ desc=“false“ responsive=“true“ animation_effect=“fadeIn“ album_title=“false“ album_id=“234″]

Foto oben und Hintergrund:
© Amt Büchen /Dr. Heinz Bohlmann

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.