Wichita, KS

Berlin Wall in Yorba Linda

Location: Museum of World Treasures

1 segment

 

The former students of the American High School in Berlin Zehlendorf are called Berlin Brats. In 2005, a group of Berlin Brats collected money for an auction on ebay. They bought the Wall segment for US $ 5,000.

The segment was offered by a retiree from the Pacific coast. Formerly he was operating a fitness studio in Washington DC. In the 1990s, he met a Russian businessman there, who was expecting a delivery of four Wall segments. Unfortunately, two segments got lost on the way, one was kept by the Russian for himself and the fourth, he gave to the fitness club operator, who, initially stored it in Rockville, Maryland.
After moving to the Pacific coast, he finally offered the segment on ebay.

The Berlin Brats in turn donated the segment to the American Overseas School Historical Society. Due to lacking spaces, the AOSHS passed it on as a loan to the Museum of World Treasures in summer 2005.

Click to enlarge:

Photo above and background:
© by Peter Linehan. Licensed under CC BY 2.0

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Wichita, KS

Berliner Mauer in Yorba Linda

Standort: Museum of World Treasures

1 Segment

BerlinBrats nennen sich die ehemaligen Schüler der American Highschool in Berlin Zehlendorf. 2005 legte eine Gruppe von ihnen Geld zusammen und ersteigerte bei ebay ein Mauersegment für 5.000 US Dollar – in Erinnerung an ihre eigene und die Zeitgeschichte.

Verkäufer war ein Pensionär von der Pazifikküste. In seiner aktiven Zeit betrieb dieser ein Fitnessstudion in Washington D.C.. In den 1990er Jahren traf er auf einen russischen Geschäftsmann, der eine Lieferung von vier Mauersegmenten erwartete. Zwei gingen unterwegs verloren, eines behielt der Russe für sich und das vierte schenkte er dem Fitnessclub-Betreiber, der es zunächst in Rockville, Maryland einlagerte.

Nach seinem Umzug an die Pazifikküste inserierte er schließlich das Segment bei ebay.

Die BerlinBrats wiederum spendeten das Segment der American Overseas Scholl Historical Society, die es in Ermangelung eigener Räumlichkeiten im Sommer 2005 dem Museum of World Treasures als Leihgabe zur Verfügung stellte.

Zum Vergrößern aufs Bild klicken:

Foto oben und Hintergrund:
© by Peter Linehan. Licensed under CC BY 2.0

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.