Taipei, RC


Location: in the garden of Taiwan Foundation for Democracy

1 segment

 

Despite a civilian government, until 1987, Taiwan’s military rule was a result of changing history: From the end of the 19th century until the end of World War II, the island state was a Japanese colony, then occupied by China. In 1947, there was a popular uprising and bloody crackdown by the Chinese military. Subsequently, a civil government was established.

The Taiwan Foundation for Democracy, in which all relevant social groups are represented, was set up in 2002 by the government. The Foundation is responsible for the consolidation of democratic development, builds international contacts, supports programs of NGOs and academic institutions, is based on well-developed democracies around the world and provides support to interested countries in the Asian region.

The Taiwan Foundation for Democracy is supported in its efforts since 2009 by a Wall segment as a symbol for the success of a peaceful revolution. At the unveiling ceremony on 9 November 2009 TFD Chairman and Speaker of the Legislative Yuan Wang Jin-pyng and Memorial Foundation for 228 Chairman Chan Chi-shean expressed the deep significance of the Wall as a symbol of democracy, human rights, and freedom. They also thanked the Landrat of Oberhavel County, Mr. Karl-Heinz Shröter, for his generous donation of the wall segment to the people of Taiwan as a symbol of their pursuit of these universal values.

In his speech, Chairman Wang stated, “Now, twenty years to the day after it fell, the Berlin Wall is standing here before the people of Taiwan. In this temporary placement in the TFD’s garden, it fits quite well with our original display of works by the renowned Taiwanese sculptor Ju Ming. Here, the Wall which symbolizes the pursuit of democracy, freedom, and human rights meets the statues of Tai Chi, which are full of harmony. It is my fondest wish that the people of Taiwan will be blessed with harmony as we continue to develop our democracy.” (click to view press release)

click to enlarge:

 

Photo above and background:
© by RICK YI, TAIWAN NEWS via Taiwan Foundation for Democracy

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Taipei, RC


Standort: im Garten der Taiwan Foundation for Democracy

1 Segment

 

Bis 1987 galt in Taiwan, trotz einer zivilen Regierung, das Militärrecht als Ergebnis einer wechselvollen Geschichte: Vom Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts bis zum Ende des Zweiten Weltkrieges war der Inselstaat eine japanische Kolonie, danach von China besetzt. 1947 kam es zu einem Volksaufstand und blutigen Niederschlagung durch die chinesischen Militärs. Im Anschluß daran wurde eine Zivilregierung eingesetzt.

Die Taiwan Foundation for Democracy hat sich der Demokratie verschrieben. Die Stiftung, in der alle maßgeblichen gesellschaftlichen Gruppen vertreten sind, wurde 2002 von der Regierung eingesetzt. Die Foundation kümmert sich um die Konsolidierung der demokratischen Entwicklung, knüpft internationale Kontakte, unterstützt Programme von NGOs und akademischen Einrichtungen, orientiert sich an weitentwickelten Demokratien in aller Welt und leistet interessierten Staaten im asiatischen Raum Unterstützung.

Die Taiwan Foundation for Democracy wird in ihren Bemühungen seit 2009 von einem Mauersegment als Symbol für das Gelingen einer friedlichen Revolution unterstützt. Bei der Enthüllungszeremonie am 9. November 2009 betonten Yuan Wang Jin-pyng, Vorsitzender der Taiwan Foundation for Democracy und Chan Chi-shean, Vorsitzender der Memorial Foundation for 228, die tiefe Bedeutung der Mauer als Symbol für Demokratie, Menschenrechte und Freiheit. Sie dankten auch dem Landrat des Landkreises Oberhavel, Karl-Heinz Schröter, für seine großzügige Spende des Mauersegments an das taiwanesische Volk als Symbol für das Streben nach diesen universellen Werten.

In seiner Rede erklärte Vorsitzender Wang: „Jetzt, zwanzig Jahre nach dem Fall, steht die Berliner Mauer hier vor den Menschen in Taiwan. Diese vorübergehende Platzierung im Garten des TFD passt sehr gut zu unserer ursprünglichen Ausstellung von Werken des renommierten taiwanesischen Bildhauers Ju Ming. Hier trifft die Mauer, die das Streben nach Demokratie, Freiheit und Menschenrechten symbolisiert, auf die Statuen von Tai Chi, die voller Harmonie sind. Ich wünsche mir von ganzem Herzen, dass die Menschen in Taiwan bei der Weiterentwicklung unserer Demokratie mit Harmonie gesegnet werden.“ (→ Presseinfo)

Zum Vergrößern aufs Bild klicken:

 

Foto oben und Hintergrund:
© by RICK YI, TAIWAN NEWS via Taiwan Foundation for Democracy

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

Diese Website verwendet Akismet, um Spam zu reduzieren. Erfahre mehr darüber, wie deine Kommentardaten verarbeitet werden.