Reykjavik, IS

Berlin Wall in Reykjavik

Location: Höf∂i house

1 segment from Potsdamer Platz

 

On October 3rd 2015, the 25th anniversary of German reunification, a Berlin Wall segment was set up in Reykjavik on a historical important place – as a symbol of democracy and a change from totalitarianism to freedom:

In Höf∂i house, guesthouse of Iceland’s government, US President Ronald Reagan und Sovjet Leader Mikhail Gorbatchev met on halfway between Moscow and Washington DC in 1986. The Reykjavik summit focussed on nuclear disarmament and is believed by many as a step to the end of the Cold War.

The Wall segment was designed by Jakob Wagner and donated by the New West Berlin art gallery. The logistic firm Samskip was responsible for the transport. A photo of the segment arriving on Iceland can be seen here. The city of Reykjavik estimated their total costs for this monument at around 10,000 €.

Click to enlarge:

 

Photo above and backgrund:
© JMP 2015

One thought on “Reykjavik, IS

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Reykjavik, IS

Berliner Mauer in Reykjavik

Standort: Höf∂i Haus

1 Segment vom Potsdamer Platz

 

Am 3. Oktober 2015, dem 25. Jahrestag der deutschen Wiedervereinigung, wurde in Reykjavik an historisch bedeutsamem Ort ein Mauersegment aufgestellt – als Symbol der Demokratie, der Wende vom Totalitarismus zur Freiheit.

Im Höf∂i Haus, dem Gästehaus der isländischen Regierung, auf halbem Weg zwischen Moskau und Washington D.C., trafen sich 1986 US Präsident Ronald Reagan und Sowjetführer Michail Gorbatschow. Auf dem Reykjavik Gipfel ging es hauptsächlich um nukleare Abrüstungsfragen – nach Ansicht vieler ein Schritt auf dem Weg zur Beendigung des Kalten Krieges.

Das von Jakob Wagner gestaltete Mauersegment wurde von der New West Berlin art gallery gestiftet. Den Transport übernahm das Logistikunternehmen Samskip. Ein Foto des Segments bei der Ankunft auf Island ist hier zu sehen. Die Stadt Reykjavik bezifferte die Gesamtkosten für das Denkmal auf rund 10.000 €.

Zum Vergrößern aufs Bild klicken:

Foto oben und Hintergrund:
© JMP 2015

One thought on “Reykjavik, IS

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.