Chalk Hill, PA

Berlin Wall in Chalk Hill/Kentuck Knob

Location: Kentuck Knob

2 segments from Waldemarstraße, Kreuzberg

 

Especially architecture enthusiasts are familiar with Kentub Knock, situated on the hills above Uniontown in West Pennsylvania: Kentuck Knob was built as one of his last by Frank Lloyd Wright for I.N. and Bernardine Hagan in the 1950s.

In 1986,  the property was taken over by Lord Peter Palumbo, a British property developer, art collector, connoisseur of architecture, Member of the House of Lords and even Polo player in the team of Prince Charles. On the spacious belongings of the house, Lord Palumbo collects sculptures by renowned artists. Since the mid-1990s, a Wall segment completes the collection. Another one stands along the driveway leading up to the house.

As part of the original wall they characterized separation and brutality and death. If you got on the wrong side of the wall, you were shot. But when you put them in a field in Pennsylvania, surrounded by wildlife and wildflowers they take on a different character. They are much quieter, reflective, said Lord Palumbo in an Interview.

Both segments are decorated with a graffito by Jürgen Große aka Indiano, a part of his global messages.

In addition to this, in 1994, Lord Palumbo acquired a few other Wall segments on an auction at Fischer Fine Art Gallery in London. One of which is in the Nemacolin Woodlands Resort, another one in front of the Imperial War Museum in London and one in the Yorkshire Scultpure Park.

Click to enlarge:

 

Photo above and background:
© Natalia GG. Licensed under CC BY-NC-SA 2.0

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Chalk Hill, PA

Berliner Mauer in Chalk Hill, Kentuck Knob

Standort: Kentuck Knob

2 Segmente aus der Waldemarstraße, Kreuzberg

Kentub Knock, auf den Hügeln über Uniontown im westlichen Pennsylvania, ist vor allem Architekturbegeisterten ein Begriff: Kentuck Knob ist Frank Lloyd Wright’s Haus für I.N. und Bernardine Hagan, eines der letzten von ihm errichteten Häuser in den 1950er Jahren.

1986 übernahm Lord Peter Palumbo das Anwesen, britischer Bauträger, Kunstsammler, Architekturkenner, Abgeordneter im Haus of Lords und zuweilen Polospieler im Team von Prince Charles. Auf dem weitläufigen, zum Haus gehörenden Areal sammelt er Skulpturen namhafter Künstler. Seit Mitte der 1990er Jahre ergänzt ein Mauersegment die Sammlung. Ein weiteres Segment steht in der Zufahrt zum Anwesen.

Als Bestandteile der Berliner Mauer stehen die Segmente für Trennung, Unmenschlichkeit und Tod. Wenn man die Mauer überwinden wollte, wurde man erschossen. Aber wenn man diese Segmente auf einer Wiese in Pennsylvanien aufstellt, mitten in freier Natur, verändert sich deren Character. Sie wirken ruhiger und laden zur Reflexion ein, erklärte Lord Palumbo in einem Interview.

Beide Segmente zeigen ein Graffito von Jürgen Große aka Indiano aus seiner Serie global messages.

Neben diesen erwarb Lord Palumbo 1994 auf einer Auktion der Londoner Fischer Fine Art Gallery noch weitere Mauersegmente, von denen eines im Nemacolin Woodlands Resort, ein weiteres vor dem Imperial War Museum in London und eines im Yorkshire Scultpure Park in Wakefield steht.

Zum Vergößern aufs Bild klicken:

 

Foto oben und Hintergrund:
© Natalia GG. Licensed under CC BY-NC-SA 2.0

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.