Washington D.C. – International Spy Museum


Location: International Spy Museum, L’Enfant Plaza

2 segments from border section Glienicke-Nordbahn/Reinickendorf

Two segments of the Berlin Wall are on display in the International Spy Museum in Washington D.C., which opened in 2019. The espionage museum is dedicated to the secret services, their activities and their importance to the everyday life of the citizens.

The exhibition area of ​​the museum, which was founded in 2002, has almost doubled to 13,000 square meters due to the move to the new building at L’Enfant Plaza. The exhibition comprises around 7,000 exhibit pieces. The two wall segments are embedded into the context of the Espionage-Berlin-Cold War.

The two segments were a donation from the Oberhavel district (formerly located in the GDR), who in turn acquired them for a symbolic price from the Grunske demolition company. This firm was involved along with many other companies in the demolition of the inner German barriers.

During the loading of the segments, the incumbent District Administrator Ludger Weskamp said: “It is a great honor for the district that the two parts of the Wall from Oberhavel can in future be seen in the heart of the American capital. They are representatives of an important part of German-German history. They remind us of the terrible consequences of World War II, of division and violence – and ultimately of peaceful change and the rapprochement of the European Countries.”

Click to enlarge:

Photo above and background:
© International Spy Museum

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Washington D.C. – International Spy Museum

Berliner Mauer in Washington D.C., USA

Standort: International Spy Museum, L’Enfant Plaza

2 Segmente aus dem Abschnitt Glienicke-Nordbahn/Reinickendorf

Zwei Segmente der Berliner Mauer stehen im 2019 neueröffneten International Spy Museum in Washington D.C.
Das Spionage-Museum ist den Geheimdiensten, deren Aktivitäten sowie deren Bedeutung für den Alltag der Bürger gewidmet.

Die Ausstellungsfläche des bereits 2002 gegründeten Museums hat sich durch den Umzug in den Neubau an der L’Enfant Plaza auf 13.000 Quadratmeter nahezu verdoppelt. Die Ausstellung umfasst gut 7.000 Exponate. Die beiden Mauersegmente sind in den Kontext Spionage-Berlin-Kalter Krieg eingebettet.

Die beiden Segmente sind eine Schenkung aus dem Landkreis Oberhavel (ehemals in der DDR gelegen), der sie wiederum für einen symbolischen Preis von der Abrissfirma Grunske erworben hat. Diese war mit vielen anderen Firmen am Abriss der innerdeutschen Sperranlagen beteiligt.

Bei der Verladung der Segmente sagte der amtierende Landrat Ludger Weskamp: „Es ist eine große Ehre für den Landkreis, dass die beiden Mauerteile aus Oberhavel zukünftig im Herzen der amerikanischen Haupstadt zu sehen sind. Sie stehen damit stellvertretend für einen wichtigen Teil der deutsch-deutschen Geschichte. Sie erinnern an die schrecklichen Folgen des Zweiten Weltkriegs, an Teilung und Gewalt – und schließlich an den friedlichen Wandel und die Annäherung Europas.“

Zum Vergößern aufs Bild klicken:

Foto oben und Hintergrund:
© International Spy Museum

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

Diese Website verwendet Akismet, um Spam zu reduzieren. Erfahre mehr darüber, wie deine Kommentardaten verarbeitet werden.