Philadelphia, PA

Berlin Wall in Syracuse, NY

Location: German Society of Pennsylvania, Spring Garden Street

1 segment

 

The German Society in Philadelphia is the oldest club of Germans far from home in the US. On occasion of the 250th anniversary of the German Society and the 25th anniversary of the fall of the Wall, a segment of the Berlin Wall was erected in the Society’s garden in November 2014. Initiator was Hardy von Auenmüller, Chairman of the German Society.

The Auenmuellers possessed lands in Saxony, which were expropriated after the Second World War, the family felt forced to leave the country. Initially Hardy von Auenmüller made a career in the US with the German chemical and pharmaceutical company Hoechst. Most recently he worked as an independent consultant.

When Hardy von Auenmüller first visited East Germany after the turn, he was appalled by the damage done to the environment, but also secured his help with the renovation. Until 2001 he monthly shuttled between East Germany and the USA. 2013 von Auenmüller heard about the fact that some segments of the Wall are still available, petitioned the Senate, and finally received two segments. One of them is now in Philadelphia. The other is to be placed in German-American Heritage Foundation Museum in Washington.

 

Photo above and background:
© German Society

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Philadelphia, PA

Berliner Mauer in Syracuse

Standort: German Society of Pennsylvania, Spring Garden Street

1 Segment

 

Die German Society in Philadelphia ist der älteste Klub der heimatfernen Deutschen in den USA. Im November 2014 wurde zum 250. Geburtstag der Vereinigung und zum 25. Jahrestag des Mauerfalls ein Segment der Berliner Mauer im Garten der German Society aufgestellt. Initiator dafür war Hardy von Auenmueller, Vorsitzender der German Society.

Die Auenmuellers besaßen Ländereien in Sachsen, die nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg enteignet wurden, wodurch sich die Familie gezwungen sah, das Land zu verlassen. Hardy von Auenmueller machte in den USA zunächst Karriere beim deutschen Chemie- und Pharmaunternehmen Hoechst, arbeitete zuletzt als selbständiger Unternehmensberater.

Als von Auenmüller nach der Wende das erste Mal Ostdeutschland besuchte, war er  entsetzt über die angerichteten Umweltschäden, sicherte aber zugleich seine Hilfe bei der Erneuerung zu und pendelte bis 2001 monatlich zwischen Ostdeutschland und den USA. 2013 erfuhr von Auenmüller davon, dass noch einige Mauersegmente verfügbar seien, machte eine Eingabe beim Berliner Senat und erhielt schließlich zwei Segmente. Eines davon steht nun in Philadelphia. Das andere soll im German-American Heritage Foundation Museum in Washington aufgestellt werden.

 

Foto oben und Hintergrund:
© German Society

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.