Buenos Aires, RA – Editoria Perfil

Berlin Wall in Buenos Aires

Location: in the lobby of Editoria Perfil

8 segments

 

Editoria Perfil is the largest Hispanic publishing house with numerous newspapers and magazine. Immediately after the fall of the Berlin Wall, the publishing house wanted to get some parts of it as lasting witnesses of the historic event. Jorge Fontevecchia, CEO of the Perfil group, recalls:

The Wall fell on a Thursday night, just before the release of our news magazine. The normality of being able to publish the magazine, to have the freedom to do so, became suddenly clear to me. It was this, what the people behind the Iron Curtain were grasping at.
Some time later I called the East German ambassador with the request for some Wall segments. After consultation with his government, it was only accepted if we financed a school in return, which of course we have done. Irony of the economy: Due to the desolate exchange rate, financing the school was significantly cheaper than the transport of the Wall segments. (Source: Editoria Perfil)

The segments are now part of the interior design of the 2015 opened new headquarter, home of all editorial offices of the publishing group (right picture).

Click to enlarge:

 

Photo above and background:
© by Ian Kath. Licensed under CC BY-NC 2.0

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Buenos Aires, RA – Editoria Perfil

Berliner Mauer in Buenos Aires

Standort: im Foyer der Editoria Perfil

8 Segmente

 

Editoria Perfil ist das größte hispanische Verlagshaus mit zahlreichen Zeitungs- und Zeitschriftentiteln und stolz auf seinen unabhängigen, kritischen Journalismus. Bereits unmittelbar nach dem Mauerfall bemühte sich das Verlagshaus um Teile der Berliner Mauer als dauerhafte Zeugen für das historische Ereignis. Jorge Fontevecchia, CEO der Verlagsgruppe Perfil erinnert sich:

Die Mauer fiel an einem Donnerstagabend, kurz vor der Veröffentlichung unseres Nachrichtenmagazins. Die Normailität, das Magazin herausgeben zu können, die Freiheit dazu zu haben, wurde mir schlagartig bewusst angesichts der Tatsache, dass die Mauer dies für einen Teil der Menschheit jahrzentelang verhindert hat.
Einige Zeit später rief ich den DDR-Botschafter an mit der Bitte, mir doch einige Mauersegmente zu verkaufen. Nach Beratung mit seiner Regierung hieß es, nur wenn wir im Gegenzug eine Schule finanzieren, was wir natürlich getan haben. Ironie der Ökonomie: Die Schule war aufgrund des desolaten Wechselkurses deutlich günstiger als der Transport der Mauersegmente…
(Quelle: Editoria Perfil)

Im 2015 neueröffneten Headquarter, in dem alle Redaktionen des Verlags untergebracht sind, sind die Segmente dauerhaft integriert (rechtes Bild).

Zum Vergrößern aufs Bild klicken:

 

Foto oben und Hintergrund:
© by Ian Kath. Licensed under CC BY-NC 2.0

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.